One of the key performance metrics publishers are often chasing is RPM. Here, the difficulty you as a publisher might feel is how fluctuating the RPM is. Someday, it might shoot sky high. And the other day, it might fall down to the ground. Prediction is not applicable here. That’s when most AdSense publishers end up asking, “How to increase AdSense RPM?”
Although many of you also tend to confuse RPM with CPM. Please, don’t.
RPM is an estimation of total revenue made by the page views. On the other hand, CPM is the cost an advertiser pays for every 1000 impressions.
Let’s elaborate (and simplify) it…
What Is Page RPM Vs CPM?
RPM, the acronym for Revenue Per Mille or Revenue Per Thousand Impressions, like I stated is the estimated revenue you will earn by the pageviews you received. CPM, the acronym for Cost Per Thousand Impressions, is the cost advertiser pays for 1000 impressions.
The thing is, CPM is an advertiser/marketer centric metric which is often misconstrued for web publishers. While RPM is meant to give publishers a sense of direction on how much they can earn with the received value for ad impressions.
The following examples and formulas speak for themselves:
Let’s say your (publisher) estimated revenue is $1,000 for 10,00,000 page views. Hence, your should RPM should look like:
→ 1,000 / 10,00,000 * 1000 = $1 RPM
Now, let’s say the advertiser’s campaign budget is $500 and you received 5,00,000 ad impressions. Hence, his/her CPM should look like:
→ 500 / 5,00,000 * 1000 = $1 CPM
Since here we’re talking page RPM, let’s get you on track.
How To Increase AdSense RPM
There could be endless ways to experimenting. So to begin, I’ll jot down nineteen ways for you to get some idea on how to increase AdSense RPM. Once you pick up with the list, you’ll notice all points are interdependent and you’d probably need to set all things in place to start right…
#1 Increase targeted traffic
Attracting high-intent, well-targeted traffic is the key to getting started with the AdSense RPM gamut. It’s obvious that more and more relevant traffic will lead to maintaining best value CPMs in the first place.
#2 Strengthen your SEO
SEO caters to search as per intent. Therefore, if we talk of increasing relevant traffic, SEO should be the priority as we know the best quality visitors come in via search and SEO proficiency helps you achieve just that.
#3 Improve content quality score
The next step after you have visitors on your website is to make them stay. Make sure your content or the content curation does not repel your visitors. Navigate through your own site as a user and ask yourself if your content does 100% justice to the search context.
#4 Bet on real-value CPC keywords
After organic come in your paid efforts. Find high-paying CPC keywords which are also in sync with the content you publish on your website. Tools like Keyword Planner, Ahrefs, SEMrush help you discover keywords you’d want go with.
#5 Use section targeting
Everything revolves around content. Because you’re leveraging content and relevancy, having the section targeting AdSense feature can add to your ad relevance by showing more contextual and content focused ads to your website visitors.
#6 Use geotargeting
When you have strong hold over contextual ads, narrowing down the targeting as per geography may yield even better. For example, if you know US region bring you the most relevant traffic, consider narrowing your targeting for those locations to leverage better impressions.
#7 Use category blocking
Ad relevance and revenue go hand in hand. The showing ad may serve a good number of impressions. However, if at the cost of a very low CPC/CPM, hit to the category blocking section in your AdSense account and put the category on hold.
#8 Excel your user experience
Your website’s primary purpose is to serve ads. But your visitors came in for the content. So it’s obvious to place ads such that they don’t play around with visitors’ reading experience. Again, navigate through your own site, or this time ask your colleague to go through. Next, ask if you’re doing 100% justice to user experience. Also, experience adds to your SEO, just so you know.
#9 Experiment with ads
The best ad formats you choose to show. The spot where you place them. Their proximity to the content. The appearance of ads. The quantity of ads you show. All these things help visitors comprehend how much do they want to engage with your website; better time on site results in better CPMs.
#10 Start header bidding
Header bidding is an improved alternate to the traditional publisher waterfall technique where each ad request was passed on from one ad network to another for fill rates; and on and on. Insead, header bidding intensifies competition for your ad inventory and maintains high CPMs by enabling you to reach numerous demand partners simultaneously.
#11 Blacklist the under-performers
Yes, it makes sense. Gathering the list and chucking out the non-performing advertisers (the ones with very low CPC) can actually be an addition to your overall ad yield. Moreover, you can also block your competitors from showing their ads on your website.
#12 Try AdSense YouTube
It’s a no brainer that videos and video ads are on the roll. Hence, if you’re a video publisher, don’t forget you can always leverage the YouTube platform to harness the power of video ads, depending upon your traffic and audience type. Rich media ads are also worth a shot.
#13 Fix all the broken links
If your webmaster tool shows you broken links, fix them immediately. Broken links have a gradual impact on SEO, hence traffic. The effect may go unnoticed. However, if you know you have broken links, why not fix them already? A lot of broken link checker tools help you detect external links which you can just remove.
#14 Re-work your site’s crawling structure
Apart from just broken links, the webmaster tool also allows you to analyze and restructure the crawling method of your website. Being a free search console tool by Google, many publishers are already utilizing it.
#15 Place ads between the content
The most obvious method of leveraging higher CPM or RPM is serving as many ad impressions; whether image or text. Ads between content is more likely to be seen as the visitors are reading through. But too much can take your overboard and ruin the experience. So make sure if you keep a good number of ads, just keeping it subtle.
#16 Try image and text ads at the same time
Display and text ads displayed individually are very common. However, some publishers very meticulously plan the placement of both image and text ads together. There’s no hard-and-fast rule about them working better off together. However, if AdSense gives you the option, it makes sense to try.
#17 Give optimization a chance + a week’s time
If you’re A/B testing with the ad formats, placement, or other factors, ensure you don’t rush. Any sort of testing takes time to bring out the effect. At the least, wait for a week and then check if the changes are doing any better. If not, you can always reverse the action. But experimenting must go on…
#18 Keep looking, tracking, and analyzing
For all the efforts you may make一be it SEO, content, ad formats, ad placement, ad buying method一don’t forget you’ve got to keep track of all of it. Leaving out even a single activity leads to giving incomplete knowledge on understanding what worked and what didn’t.
#19 Fix technical issues to keep all things running
Last but not the least, fix all the technical errors. You may be working on SEO and content, and all other things consistently. Though at the end, there shouldn’t be loose technical ends which overtake all your efforts. The most common technical aspects include page/ad load time fixes, mobile friendliness, etc.
Why Does RPM Vary? What To Do About It?
Performing all the best practices to increase AdSense RPM is the best thing. But what about the factors which are causing a downfall (or even uplift) to your AdSense RPM? Care enough to know?
Enter CTR. The acronym of Click Through Rate, CTR is an advertiser/marketer metric used to derive the percentage of clicks by dividing the total number of ad clicks from the total number of ad impressions. For example:
→ 50 (clicks) / 800 (impressions) * 100 = 6.25% CTR
CTR is then followed by CPC. The acronym for Cost Per Click, it defines the amount the advertiser/marketer is willing to pay you for each click.
So how to deal with it?
In both cases, the higher the CTR/CPC, the higher is the revenue. At this point, in respect of a better RPM, consider working on how to improve your ad CTR. Here too, ad placement, relevancy, and better content is the key to getting better ad viewability, hence high CTR/CPC.
RPM denotes the possible revenue you can earn by taking the value of impressions/page views in account. There’s no fixed number which says “This is a great RPM.” It absolutely depends on your website type and the numbers backing your ads (metrics, costing, ad strategy, etc.).
Whether you’re an AdSense publisher or you use alternate ad networks, the stated techniques to increase RPM are universally applicable. All the above factors helm the series of efforts you make to increase your RPM.
It’s also a metric that helps publishers identify and compare their revenue across channels. The only catch is, things or experiments would need time and you’d need patience.